Do You Mind? Community-led Responses to 2SLGBTQ+ Youth Mental Health

Join us for an online webinar on Thursday, March 25 where CBRC’s National Mental Health Project Coordinator Fowzia Huda shares learnings from the first year of Do You Mind?, a pilot project designed by CBRC to empower gender and sexual minority youth to become mental health-savvy knowledge holders and advocates.

DoYouMind_FBcover.png

With interventions delivered in three provinces (Halifax, Edmonton, and Vancouver), Do You Mind? empowered 2SLGBTQ+ communities across Canada to identify and address their own communites’ specific mental health needs—from designing effective support strategies for youth grappling with suicidal ideation, to the creation of a mentorship program between community members from different generations, to the publishing of a collaborative Zine that celebrates success in the queer community.

Joining Fowzia in the discussion will be:

  • Holly Abt - Edmonton Community Coordinator
    (representing EMHC, Edmonton partner site)
  • Emily Bailey - Program Manager, Mpowerment/YouthCO
    (representing YouthCO, Vancouver partner site)
  • Kirk Furlotte - Atlantic Regional Manager, CBRC
    (representing The Youth Project, Halifax partner site)
  • Ricky Rodrigues - Reporting and Evaluation Lead, CBRC
    (Toronto, sharing overall Evaluation data)

Date: Thursday, March 25
Time: 12:00 pm Pacific / 1:00 pm Mountain / 3:00 pm Eastern / 4:00 pm Atlantic
Duration: 75 minutes (60 mins presentation and 15 mins Q&A)
Location: https://cbrcevents.net

To register: https://cbrcevents.net

Do You Mind? was piloted in 2020/21 by CBRC, in partnership with YouthCO in Vancouver, the EMHC in Edmonton and The Youth Project in Halifax, and with funding from the Public Health Agency of Canada’s Mental Health Promotion Innovation Fund.

For more information, please contact Fowzia Huda at [email protected]

Disponible en français.

CBRC

About CBRC

Community-Based Research Centre (CBRC) promotes the health of gay, bi, trans, Two-Spirit, and queer men (GBT2Q) through research and intervention development.
Do You Mind? Community-led Responses to 2SLGBTQ+ Youth Mental Health
Do You Mind? Community-led Responses to 2SLGBTQ+ Youth Mental Health
Check out Community-Based Research Centre. I just joined.